Amazon Matchbook Offer for Kindle (nice surprise)

Matchbook New

Amazon, Kindle, and Fire and all related logos are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.


After I purchased some print books today on Amazon, I found a nice surprise.

At the top of the next page was a large Matchbook offer, large enough to include the thumbnail of one of the books and a message.

It informed me that since I had purchased the print edition, I could add the Kindle edition for $1.99.

This way, the Matchbook offers are getting a little exposure.

They are slightly easier to spot on the product page than they once were, yet they still aren’t too visible there.

But after you buy the print book, now the Matchbook offer is highly visible.


The Amazon Kindle Matchbook program allows publishers to offer the Kindle edition at a discounted price to customers who have already purchased the print edition.

The idea is to entice customers to buy both editions, and to offer savings to customers who do so.

KDP authors can check a box on the second page of the publishing process to enroll in the Matchbook program.

You must have a print edition of the same Kindle e-book, and the two editions must be linked together on the Amazon product page for this to work.

I get some Matchbook sales every month.

But many authors don’t see many Matchbook sales.

For one, I sell many more print books than Kindle e-books. If you sell mostly Kindle e-books, you probably won’t see as many Matchbook sales.

Unless you find an effective way to take advantage of a little marketing potential.

You have to let your prospective customers know about the benefits of Matchbook.

For example:

  • Buy the print edition at Amazon and get the e-book edition at a discount.
  • Keep the Kindle edition for yourself and give the print edition as a gift. (Great holiday idea.)

Many customers don’t know about Matchbook, and those who do often don’t fully realize how it could benefit them.

The way around this problem is to help educate your customers.

But like all other marketing, it’s never easy.

Write happy, be happy. 🙂

Chris McMullen

Copyright © 2015

Chris McMullen, Author of A Detailed Guide to Self-Publishing with Amazon and Other Online Booksellers

  • Volume 1 on formatting and publishing
  • Volume 2 on marketability and marketing
  • 4-in-1 Boxed set includes both volumes and more
  • Kindle Formatting Magic (coming soon)

Follow me at WordPress, find my author page on Facebook, or connect with me through Twitter.


Click here to jump to the comments section.

24 comments on “Amazon Matchbook Offer for Kindle (nice surprise)

  1. I’ve been trying to get my url to work. The rest of the book works fine, (Amazon kids book creator) but can’t seem to hook up theurl to my website. Do I need to add the text to the page AS well as the html? Sorry confused. Dave

    • You’re trying to add an active hyperlink for your website in your KKBC created book? How are you testing it out? If I recall correctly offhand, it won’t work in the previewer even if the active hyperlink does work in the device. But you need to disable popup text for any hyperlinks.

      • Yes, hyper link to my site in my KKBC book. I loaded the book into my Fire, no luck. Then again, I am not all that sharp on HTML. Do I need to type the website on to the page or is having it in the html enough, will that show up on the page or does it have to be anchored to type on he page?

        All help appreciated. Other than that the KKBC is very easy to use, good results.


    • The first thing I would try is typing the url out, including the http part (visit the page on your pc and copy/paste the url, that should include the http when you paste it), just as plain text with the pop-up disabled. (It’s been a while since I’ve used the KKBC; since I publish textbooks, I’ve been using the KTC since it came out for my fixed-format needs).

      If that doesn’t work, then I’d use the edit HTML option. I would keep the url that I pasted in as text, with the pop-up disabled, but just edit it’s HTML on the page. You want the url to change to something like:

      GTa href=””LT

      except where I wrote GT, use a greater than sign, and where I wrote LT, use a less than sign. Unfortunately, when I try to use the actual symbols, WordPress wants to read the HTML and turn it into a hyperlink…

      • Hi Chris,

        First of all, thank you for your time and prompt replies to my questions. I really appreciate it.

        Here is the code I have for my website based on what you sent me; >href=””/<

        Does that look right? and that is what I would paste in the HTML, (assuming I can figure out where to put it.)

        I don't know how to turnoff the pop-up function for the "Add text" box.

        This may just be over my head. I wish Amazon would have made it part of the application. It think everyone would want their URL in their book.

        Thanks again,

        David Hoobler

      • It’s just an image I posted on my website and linked to. It seemed easier to write it in Word and take a screenshot. I do have a basic tutorial on my blog (type Kindle Kids Book Creator in the search field on my blog), though it doesn’t presently get into the HTML.

      • Thanks Chris, very generous. I’m working on it. I’ll keep you posted on my adventures with KKBC. Dave

  2. As soon as I get the print edition of Pride’s Children ready, which is next on the list after the ebook is up, I’ll remember to do this – every little bit helps. I’m sure.

    Another good idea from Chris, and all I have to do is wait – and he supplies the post.

    I’m getting quite lazy.

    • I believe you can prepare your Matchbook offer now. Nothing will happen unless and until a print edition gets linked to the Kindle edition. That would save you from needing to republish when the print edition is released.

      • I shall enter it onto the to do list forthwith. I hadn’t really thought of the details – since the print edition MUST exist, or there is nothing to link to – but print has always been on the list. Once you have written the story, and proofed it, and edited it to within an inch of its life, and created an ebook cover, and a book description, and etc., taking the final step to create a pdf and send it off to Createspace can’t be as hard.

        I know things take time, and I’ve had to learn so many things to even get to the point I’m at, but I don’t understand why many people don’t go that final step. Proportionately, it’s tiny. And the potential rewards are high.

      • I want to do that thing where you send a few copies of your book out into the world, and ask people to pass them on when they read them. For which paper is a better option – and maybe a hard plastic cover to protect it, too.

        I think it would be great fun to see where the books went.

Leave a Reply

